Assignment 3 – Reflection and Critical Review

Demonstration of technical and visual skills:

In all honesty, technically these shots would not have been chosen for this assignment however, given the circumstances and the limited time to re-think the approach for assignment 3, with post production editing they seem to meet the brief.

This was a retrospective piece of work using previously shot photos from my archive. The location was a one off opportunity to gain access to an area otherwise forbidden to the general public. If this had been the chosen location with an assignment in mind there would have been many more shots to choose from. The soldier’s accommodation is an example of how that particular image would have perhaps been better. The shot is awkward and there are ways it may well have been composed more effectively. There are patterns and shapes in the shot which was the intention and some abstract shots would have given more interest.

The editing on these images has been an incredible adventure using new software and experimenting with colour, highlights and shadows to emulate images that seen on line of enhanced war photographs, such as the colourised images of WW1.

Quality of outcome – content, application of knowledge, presentation of work in a coherent manner, discernment, conceptualisation of thoughts, communication of ideas.

The quality of outcome in terms of the content and presentation. However, there is some inconsistencies especially the tank on the skyline. Should it have been possible a re-shoot of this particular image would have allowed a little more experimentation to achieve better colour.

The surrealism of the place and the alien presence of the tanks was a challenge to conceptualise the experience and how the empty space found all over Northumberland which conveyed the experience to the viewer. The pacifist may find the images and the imagined amount of GDP spent on defence is perhaps also portrayed in this set of disconnected images that sit hidden away in one of the remotest parts of the country. There is an attempt to connect them to the optimum reality they are used for.

Demonstration of creativity – imagination, experimentation, invention, development of a personal voice.

Although “lockdown” forced the different approach to this assignment it seems to have produce a more creative set of images and a perspective that will be useful in the future. There was the additional challenge to fit the research to the images rather than the other way round. However, the previous module on Beauty and the Sublime really helped to find a place and an approach. The decision to use colour rather than converting to monochrome was deliberate in order to bring the drama and the sublime to the set.

I have been thinking a lot about “my personal voice” and I’m beginning to see that I come back to similar themes, those of political context, history, psychological effects and memory of events, as well as this module of spaces to places. My Transitions assignment is a building site and I am considering Assignment 5 which early thoughts include the development of Alnwick as a town from mediaeval times to present day. If I take this approach I can combine my interest in history with the political decisions of allowing the town to develop and it can all be achieved during my allowed daily walk if the lockdown continues.

Finally, I presented my images to the OCA Wide Hangout which tutor, Clive White attends. I received positive comments and lots of tips on how to improve the images. I’ve also set up a Landscape, Place and Environment Hangout and I also presented them there with a similar positive result.

I have discovered Padlets which I like better than the daily blog and and it is a wonderful way to store all my research in one place without forgetting where I found the particular article or book.

Context – Reflection, research (evidenced in learning logs).
Critical thinking (evidenced in critical review)

The set fit the context of spaces to places well. I have been critical in my thinking and in my research. Evidence of research can be found on my padlet https://oca.padlet.org/lynda514949/dmfrvsb2cvv4gywr

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started